Baseball Hall of Fame 2020: Voting, ballot and eligibility rules

first_imgFAGAN: Derek Jeter is the only sure thing on 2020 ballotThere are a number of sneaky-underrated players on this year’s ballot as well, including Bobby Abreu, Andy Pettitte and Cliff Lee.The ballot, voting and eligibility rules are all available below.2020 Baseball Hall of Fame ballotThe 2020 Hall of Fame ballot features 32 players, including 19 first-year players.All WAR numbers courtesy of Fangraphs.PlayerPositionYear on ballotTeam(s)Career WARDerek JeterSS1NYY73.0Bobby AbreuOF1HOU, PHI, NYY, LAA, LAD, NYM59.8Josh BeckettSP1FLA, BOS, LAD36.3Heath BellRP1NYM, SDP, MIA, ARI, TBR9.9Adam Dunn1B/OF1CIN, WSH, ARI, CWS, OAK25.6Chone FigginsIF1ANA/LAA, SEA, LAD22.2Raul IbanezOF1SEA, KCR, PHI, NYY19.3Jose ValverdeRP1ARI, HOU, DET, NYM8.5Carlos Pena1B1TEX, OAK, DET, BOS, TBD/TBR, CHC, KCR18.9Brad PennySP1FLA/MIA, LAD, BOS, SFG, STL, DET26.7J.J. PutzRP1SEA, NYM, CWS, ARI10.2Brian Roberts2B1BAL, NYY29.7Eric Chavez3B1OAK, NYY, ARI37.2Jason Giambi1B/DH1OAK, NYY, COL, CLE49.8Rafael FurcalIF1ATL, LAD, STL, MIA33.1Paul Konerko1B1LAD, CWS24.0Cliff LeeSP1CLE, PHI, SEA48.2Alfonso Soriano2B1NYY, TEX, WSH, CHC38.9Todd Helton1B2COL54.9Andy PettitteSP2NYY, HOU68.2Andruw JonesOF3ATL, LAD, TEX CWS, NYY67.0Scott Rolen3B3PHI, STL, TOR, CIN69.9Omar VizquelSS3SEA, CLE, SFG, TEX, CWS, TOR42.5Manny RamirezOF4CLE, BOS, LAD66.3Billy WagnerRP5HOU, PHI, NYW, ATL24.0Gary SheffieldOF6MIL, FLA, LAD, ATL, NYY, DET, NYM62.1Jeff Kent2B7NYM, SFG, HOU, LAD56.0Roger ClemensSP8BOS, TOR, NYY, HOU133.7Barry BondsOF8PIT, SF164.4Curt SchillingSP8BAL, HOU, PHI, ARI, BOS79.8Sammy SosaOF8CWS, CHC, BAL, TEX60.1Larry WalkerOF10MON, COL, STL68.7When will Baseball Hall of Fame results be released?Voting results for the 2020 Hall of Fame class will be revealed Jan. 21.  Hall of Fame voting season is upon us.This year features 32 players, including 19 first-timers. It’s headlined by a few interesting stories, as usual: How many votes will Derek Jeter get? Will Larry Walker finally make it in? What will come of Barry Bonds and Roger Clemens? Baseball Hall of Fame voting rules, eligibilityActive Baseball Writers’ Association of America (BBWAA) members of 10 years or longer receive a ballot, including Sporting News’ Ryan Fagan. Writers can vote for up to 10 players on the ballot. Writers may also submit a blank ballot, which counts against players on the ballot. Writers can also abstain from voting by not submitting a ballot.Players are eligible for the Hall of Fame ballot five years after their retirement, as long as they played at least 10 seasons in the majors. If a player unretires during the five years, then the clock for Hall of Fame eligibility is restarted.Players are removed from the ballot if they do not receive at least 5 percent of the vote while on the ballot. Players are voted in if they receive 75 percent or more of the vote.last_img read more